Skip To Content

Disabling users' ability to create built-in portal accounts

By default, users can click the Create An Account button on the portal sign-up page to create a built-in portal account. If you're using enterprise accounts or you want to create all accounts manually, you can disable the sign-up page and prevent users from creating their own accounts using the following steps.

  1. Open a web browser and sign in to the ArcGIS Portal Directory as an Administrator of your organization. The URL is formatted as
  2. Click System > Properties > Update Properties.
  3. In the Properties field, add the disableSignup property, for example:
        "disableSignup": "true"
  4. Click Update Properties. Your portal is restarted.

After the portal restarts, users will no longer have access to the sign-up page and cannot create their own accounts.