Skip To Content

Own groups

As a group owner, you can edit the properties of your group (thumbnail, description, tags, and so on), manage your content and content shared with your group, and change some group settings including who can contribute content to your group and who can access (that is, search for and find) the group. If you've created a group that allows people to apply to join, you accept or decline membership requests.

Group owners can remove content and members from their groups, enable delete protection on their groups, and delete their groups as needed. You can share public content with your group, which is useful when you find content that relates to the focus of your group but the content owner is not a member. As a group owner, you also have the option of changing a group member's role in your group. For example, you can promote some group members to group managers, which allows them to help you with group ownership tasks.

Manage new membership requests

When someone requests to join a group you own, you see a Membership Requests link.

  1. Verify that you are signed in.
  2. Click Groups at the top of the site, and use the tabs, filters, sort options, and search as needed to find the group for which you want to manage membership requests.
  3. Click Membership Requests below the group name, and in the pop-up that appears, click Approve or Decline for each request.
    Tip:

    You can also approve or decline group membership requests by clicking the Membership Requests link on the Overview tab of the group page.

If you approve the user's request, the user is automatically added to your group. If you decline the request, the user is not added to your group. In either case, the user can check the status by opening the Notifications pop-up at the top of the site.

Change a member's group role

After inviting members to your group, you can update their group role as needed. For example, as a group owner, you can promote some group members to group managers, which allows them to help you with group ownership tasks—for example, inviting users, managing membership requests, removing content and members, and editing group properties.

  1. Click the Members tab of the group page.
    Note:

    The Members tab does not appear for groups whose membership is controlled by an enterprise group.

  2. Do any of the following to find the member or members whose group role you want to change:
    • In the search field, enter the full name of the group member—for example, Jeff Smith.
    • Use the Group Role and Date Joined filters to narrow down the list of group members.
      Tip:

      A green dot beside the filter indicates that the filter is turned on. Active filters are also shown under the search field. Click the x beside the filter to clear it. Clear all active filters at once by clicking Clear All.

    • Sort the list of members by name, group role, or the date the member joined the group. You can also click the arrow to reverse the alphabetical sort order.
  3. Select the member whose group role you want to change and click Update Member's Group Role.
  4. From the drop-down menu, select another role (Group Manager or Group Member) and click Update.
    Note:

    You can only promote group members to group managers if they are from your organization and have privileges to create and own groups. It is recommended that you only promote members who have similar privileges to you so that their ownership capabilities in the group match yours. For example, if you only have privileges to share groups privately (make them accessible to group members only) but want to promote a member who has privileges to make groups accessible to the public and to people in your organization, that member will have more capabilities in managing the group than you do as owner.

Remove members

If you no longer want a member to participate in your group, you can remove them from the group. Their items are also removed from the group. The user's account and items are not removed from the portal website. To remove a member, do the following:

  1. Click the Members tab of the group page.
    Note:

    The Members tab does not appear for groups whose membership is controlled by an enterprise group.

  2. Do any of the following to find the member or members you want to remove from the group:
    • In the search field, enter the full name of the group member—for example, Jeff Smith.
    • Use the Group Role and Date Joined filters to narrow down the list of group members.
      Tip:

      A green dot beside the filter indicates that the filter is turned on. Active filters are also shown under the search field. Click the x beside the filter to clear it. Clear all active filters at once by clicking Clear All.

    • Sort the list of members by name, group role, or the date the member joined the group. You can also click the arrow to reverse the alphabetical sort order.
  3. Check the box to select the member you want to remove. You can select as many members as you want.
  4. Click Remove Member From Group.
  5. In the Remove Access window, click Remove.

Share public and organizational content

Once an item has been shared with your organization or with the public, you can share it with your group. If the content owner makes the item private, it is automatically removed from your group.

  1. Click Content at the top of the site and find the item you want to share with your group.

    Items that have been shared with everyone (public) are marked with a globe icon Shared: Everyone. Items shared with your organization are marked with a building icon Shared: Organization.

  2. Click the name of the item to open its item page.
  3. Click Share.
  4. Check the box to the left of the group with which you want to share the item. You can select more than one group if you want to share the item with multiple groups you own.
  5. Click OK.

Remove content

If a group member has shared an item you do not think fits into your group, you can remove it. The item no longer appears in the group, but it is not deleted from the owner's account. It is still available to the item owner and retains its other sharing properties—for example, being a public item. To remove an item from your group, do the following:

  1. Click the Content tab of the group page.
  2. Do any of the following to find the items you want to remove from the group:
    • Enter keywords in the search field.
    • Use the search filters to narrow down the list of items. You can filter by item type (map, layer, app, and so on), the date the item was last modified, the date it was created, and how it was shared (everyone, organization, or group).
      Tip:

      A green dot beside the filter indicates that the filter is turned on. Active filters are also shown under the search field. Click the x beside the filter to clear it. Clear all active filters at once by clicking Clear All.

    • Sort the list of items by title, owner, views, or rating. You can also click the arrow to reverse the alphabetical sort order.
  3. Select the item you want to remove from the group. You can remove one or multiple items at once.
    Note:

    To select an item in table view, check the box beside the item. To select an item in list view or grid view, hover over the thumbnail and click the circle in the upper left corner to add a check mark.

  4. Click Remove From Group.
  5. Click Yes to confirm that you want to remove the item or items from the group.

Share your group

If you have sharing privileges, you can use the Share button on the Overview tab of the group page to share the group with others in one of the following ways:

  • Copy a short URL for the group and paste it in an email, blog, or website.
  • Create a group app using a configurable template.
  • If the group is public, you can embed the group in a website.

Note:

You may not see all of these sharing options, depending on how your administrator has configured your portal website.

Enable delete protection

You can prevent groups you own or manage from being accidentally deleted. This setting is especially important to protect special groups such as Open Data groups. To enable delete protection on your group, click the Settings tab and check the box under Delete Protection.

Delete your group

To delete a group that you own, manage, or administer, go to the Settings tab of the group you want to delete and click Delete Group. In the Delete window, click Delete. This option is not available if delete protection is enabled on the group.