Skip To Content

Deleting a site

If you do not intend to use your ArcGIS Server site again, you can delete it using the ArcGIS Server Administrator Directory. Deleting a site removes the configuration store and all information about the services published on the site. It also removes any data that you allowed to be automatically copied to the server at publish time. However, deleting a site does not remove cache tiles.


If you want to use the site configuration later, you can alternatively remove all the extra machines in the site and then stop the last remaining machine. One way to do this is using the icons on the Site > GIS Server > Machines tab in Manager. This technique takes your services offline while leaving your configuration store and data intact. You can then start the machine at any time to make the services available again.

If you decide to delete the site, follow the instructions below:

  1. Open the Administrator Directory and log in with an account that has been granted administrative privileges. The URL is formatted
  2. Click the deleteSite link.
  3. Click the Delete button.