Skip To Content

Editing a server directory in ArcGIS for Desktop

You can use ArcCatalog or the Catalog window in ArcGIS for Desktop to edit a server directory. To do so, follow the steps below.


In 10.0 and earlier versions, you were required to manually restart services after changing the location of a directory. In 10.1 and later versions, services are restarted automatically. If your ArcGIS Server site has a large number of services, it may take a significant amount of time for all the services to restart. A recommended practice is to adequately plan and test your ArcGIS Server deployment so that you do not have to edit the server's directories.

  1. In the Catalog tree, expand the GIS Servers node.
  2. Double-click Add ArcGIS Server and establish an Administer GIS server connection to the server. See About connecting to ArcGIS Server in ArcGIS for Desktop for instructions on how to connect. If you already have an administrative connection set up, you can skip this step.
  3. In the Catalog tree, right-click your administrative connection and choose Server Properties. The ArcGIS Server Properties window appears.
  4. Click the Directories tab.
  5. Click the Directory Type drop-down arrow, choose the server directory you want to edit, then click Edit.
  6. Optionally, enter a new path for the directory in the Physical Path field, or browse to its location on disk.

    When you edit a directory path, the contents of the directory are copied to the new location unless you are editing a cache directory. When you change a cache directory location, you must copy the cache to the new location yourself.

  7. Optionally, update the description in the Description field.
  8. Optionally, set the cleanup mode and maximum file age. The server will delete files in the directory at regular intervals based on the maximum age of the file.
  9. Click OK.

The edits to your directory are applied and listed in the Directories tab.