Skip To Content

Editing a server directory in Manager

You can use ArcGIS Server Manager to edit a server directory. To do so, follow the steps below.


In 10.0 and earlier versions, you were required to manually restart services after changing the location of a directory. In 10.1 and later versions, services are restarted automatically. If your ArcGIS Server site has a large number of services, it may take a significant amount of time for all the services to restart. A recommended practice is to adequately plan and test your ArcGIS Server deployment so that you do not have to edit the server's directories.

  1. Open Manager and log in. If you need help with this step, see Logging in to Manager.
  2. Click Site > GIS Server > Directories.
  3. Locate the server directory you want to configure, then click Edit Edit. The Edit Directory dialog box appears.
  4. Optionally, enter a new location for the directory.

    When you edit a directory path, the contents of the directory are copied to the new location unless you are editing a cache directory. When you change a cache directory location, you must copy the cache to the new location yourself.

  5. Optionally, update the description in the Description field.
  6. Optionally, set the cleanup mode and maximum file age. The server will delete files in the directory at regular intervals based on the maximum age of the file.
  7. Click Save.

The edits to your directory are applied and listed in the Directories module.