Skip To Content

Existing ArcGIS Server users

In this topic

ArcGIS Server 10.0 and earlier users

You must uninstall versions 10.0 and earlier of ArcGIS Server from your machine before proceeding with the ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server installation.

ArcGIS Server 10.1 and later users

The ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server setup package is designed to detect and upgrade an existing installation of ArcGIS Server on the target system. For instructions, see Upgrading ArcGIS for Server.

Common software upgrade questions

This section addresses common questions about the upgrade behavior of ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server.

Can I upgrade directly to ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server?

Yes. For example, if you have version 10.2.1 installed, running the 10.3.1 setup will automatically upgrade it 10.3.1. There is no need for you to obtain and install each released version in order to upgrade to 10.3.1.

Do I need to uninstall an earlier version of ArcGIS for Server before installing ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server?

No. If you already have an earlier version of ArcGIS for Server installed, the setup will automatically upgrade it to ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server without any additional configuration. Additionally, you can install ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server on its own without having an earlier version of the software installed on your machine.

Do the ArcGIS Web Adaptor and ArcGIS for Server product versions need to be in sync?

Yes. You cannot configure an earlier version of ArcGIS Web Adaptor to work with an ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server site. The Web Adaptor's version must always match the version of the ArcGIS Server site. You'll need to install ArcGIS 10.3.1 Web Adaptor at the same time you upgrade your GIS servers.

For full instructions, see the applicable Web Adaptor:

If I've federated my server with Portal for ArcGIS, do I need to upgrade Portal for ArcGIS when I upgrade the server?

Yes. For your portal deployment to function correctly, your server and Portal for ArcGIS versions need to be the same. If the ArcGIS Server site you've federated with Portal for ArcGIS includes multiple machines, upgrade your GIS servers sequentially. If you have ArcGIS Web Adaptor (single or multiple) configured with your ArcGIS Server site, you also need to update the Web Adaptors to the same version as ArcGIS Server.

If I've federated ArcGIS Server with Portal for ArcGIS, should I unfederate before upgrading?

No. It's strongly recommended that you do not unfederate when you upgrade your portal deployment. Doing this will adversely impact your portal deployment. For example, when you unfederate, all hosted service items remain in the portal but they are disconnected from their services in ArcGIS Server. This means that members will not be able to access, share, or use these services in the portal. Additionally, any existing ArcGIS Server services that were imported during the federation process are removed from the portal and are no longer available.

Do I need to back up anything before installing ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server?

All of your services, site information, and security settings are preserved when upgrading to ArcGIS Server. However, it's recommended that you back up your data before installing the software.


If the server you're upgrading is connected to an Active Directory deployment that includes multiple domain controllers, but not all domain controllers are configured as global catalog servers, you'll need to manually specify the domain controller used by ArcGIS Server after performing the installation. For full instructions, see Configuring the domain controller used by ArcGIS Server.

Do I need to stop my GIS services and ArcGIS Server before installing ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server?

If you have not already stopped ArcGIS Server, the setup will do it for you at the appropriate point in the installation.

Do I need to reauthorize when upgrading to 10.3.1?

No. Your current authorization will be preserved and reconfigured for use in 10.3.1.

In a multiple-machine site, can some of my GIS servers run 10.3.1 and others run an earlier version?

No. In order for your site to function correctly, all GIS server machines need to be at the same update version. You can upgrade your GIS servers at the same time or sequentially. If you have ArcGIS Web Adaptor configured with your ArcGIS Server site, you will also need to update Web Adaptor to the same update version.

When upgrading, what password do I designate for the ArcGIS Server account?

When you launch the 10.3.1 setup, a panel displays asking you for the user name and password of the ArcGIS Server account. This is the account you defined when installing the software. If the account has changed since you installed the earlier version, for example, by using the configure ArcGIS Server account utility, you'll need to enter the user name and password you designated when modifying the account.

I can't log in to Manager after installing ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server. What do I do?

If you are experiencing issues logging in to Manager after installing the latest software update, you may need to clear your browser's cache in order to log in. This is typically due to leftover information from the previous version of Manager being cached in the browser. Before clearing your browser's cache, make sure you are attempting to log in with an account that has administrative privileges to your site.

I don't see new features in Manager after upgrading to ArcGIS 10.3.1 for Server. What's going on?

If you notice that new features in Manager are not displaying in your browser after upgrading to 10.3.1, you'll need to clear your browser's cache. Once you clear the cache, you'll see new features appear in Manager.