Skip To Content

Publishing a globe service

Available with 3D Analyst license.

Once you finish creating a globe document in ArcGlobe, you can publish it as a service and share it with others both locally and on the web. Keep in mind that you cannot publish an unsaved globed document (e.g. Untitled.3dd). You will be prompted to save your changes and save the file when attempting to publish one that is unsaved. Staging the data and publishing the document will automatically resume if you encounter this process.

To publish your globe document as a service, follow the steps below.

  1. Open your globe document in ArcGlobe and choose File > Share As > Service from the main menu.
  2. In the Share as Service window, choose Publish a service and click Next.
  3. Choose the ArcGIS Server connection you want to use from the Choose a connection drop-down list. If the server connection you want to use is not listed, you can create a new connection by clicking Connect To ArcGIS Server Add ArcGIS Server.

    If you need help with this step, see About connecting to ArcGIS Server in ArcGIS for Desktop.

  4. Optionally, in the Publish a Service window, enter a new name for the service. The name cannot be more than 120 characters long and may contain only alphanumeric characters and underscores.

    Click Next.

  5. By default, services are published to the root folder (root) of ArcGIS Server. Services can be organized into subfolders under the root folder. Choose the folder where you want to publish the service, or create a new folder to contain the service, and click Continue.

    The Service Editor appears.

  6. In the Service Editor window, set the properties for your globe service. Here you can choose what users can do with your service and take fine-grained control of how the server will expose your service. For details on how to manually set globe service properties, see Setting globe service properties.

    If you close the Service Editor in the middle of a session, you'll be prompted to save your work as a draft service. Draft services allow you to come back to your service configuration work at a later time. By default, draft services are saved in the Drafts folder of your ArcGIS Server connection. To reopen a draft globe service, you can browse to it in the Catalog window from ArcGlobe, right-click it and choose Open. For more information, see About draft services.

  7. Click Analyze Analyze. This examines your globe document to see if it can be published to the server.
  8. Fix any errors (Error) in the Prepare window; this must be done before you can publish. Optionally, you can fix the warnings and informational messages to further improve the performance and appearance of your globe service. For more information about resolving these issues, see Analyzing your globe.
  9. Once you've fixed the errors and, optionally, any warnings and messages, click Publish Publish.

Your globe service is now running on the server and can be accessed by users and clients on your network. If your server administrator has allowed web access to the service, your globe service is also now available on the web.

  • If you try to click Publish and you haven't saved your document, a warning will appear notifying you that it is required to save in order to create a service definition file, or publish it as a service. Once you agree to save the globe document the publishing process will automatically resume.
  • If the service you are publishing will be copying data to the server, the size of the data and your network bandwidth will impact the time it takes to publish.
  • Use the Collapse button Collapse at the top of the Service Editor to gain more viewing area when configuring your globe service.