Skip To Content

Hiding a service in the ArcGIS Server Services Directory

If your ArcGIS Server site includes services that you no longer want to display in the ArcGIS Server Services Directory, you can hide them by adding the deprecated property in the service configuration. You do this using the ArcGIS Server Administrator Directory.

Hiding a service in the Services Directory allows you to prevent users from discovering the service URL. Existing users and applications that are aware of the URL can still consume the service until it is deleted. Specifying a service to be hidden in the Services Directory does not hide it in ArcGIS Server Manager; services are always displayed in Manager.


When hiding a service, it may be useful to record the URL for future reference. Alternatively, you can obtain the service URL using Manager.

  1. In a web browser, log in to the Administrator Directory. The URL is formatted
  2. Click services.
  3. Click the name of the service you want to hide. If your service is in a folder, click the name of the folder, and select the service from the list.
  4. On the Service - <Service Name (Service Type)> page, scroll to the bottom, and click edit.
  5. Add "deprecated": "true", to the first line of the service configuration, for example:
     "deprecated": "true",
     "serviceName": "FireHydrants",
     "type": "MapServer",
  6. Click Save Edits.

    The service is restarted.

  7. After the service restarts, log in to the Services Directory and verify the service is no longer listed. The URL is formatted

Your service is no longer displayed in the Services Directory. To unhide the service, repeat the instructions above, and specify "deprecated": "false", in the service configuration.