ArcGIS Server Cloud Builder on Amazon Web Services allows you to create a backup that preserves the current state of your ArcGIS Server site. If an enterprise geodatabase instance is included in your site, it also participates in the backup. Restoring a backup is an easy way to return your site to its original state if your site becomes corrupted, or if you are doing development and prototyping work and you want to start something over.
When you create a Cloud Builder backup, the current state of one ArcGIS Server instance in your site is preserved (the site server instance named SITEHOST in the AWS Management Console, which holds the configuration store). The backup preserves all services, caches, and data that were attached to your site server instance. If you moved the configuration store or your datasets to another instance, you'll need to use some other means to back them up.
When the backup is restored, the image of the one ArcGIS Server instance is used to launch as many ArcGIS Server instances as originally participated in the site. If you want to launch multiple sites that are architected the same way, use a site template instead of a backup.
The backup is saved using Amazon Web Services and incurs a storage fee. You will see charges from both Amazon EC2 and Amazon S3 that pertain to the backup.
You cannot use a backup to restore a site that has been deleted. When you delete a site, its backups are also deleted.
ArcGIS 10.6.1 is the final release of ArcGIS Server Cloud Builder on Amazon Web Services.
Follow these steps to create a backup:
- Log in to ArcGIS Server Cloud Builder on Amazon Web Services.
- Find your site in the list and click its Backups button.
- Click New.
- Type a name and description for your backup and click Finish.
The name and description are important because you can have multiple backups of the same site, each taken at different times. Well-formed names and descriptions can help you find the correct backup to restore.
This begins the creation of your backup, which can take some time. It's recommended that you wait up to 30 minutes before attempting to restore a site using a backup.
To restore your site from this backup, see Restore site from a Cloud Builder backup.
You can delete your backup by clicking Backups, selecting the backup, and clicking Delete.