Skip To Content

Restore site from a Cloud Builder backup

Restoring a Cloud Builder backup is an easy way to return your site to its original state if your site becomes corrupted or you are doing development and prototyping work and you want to start over.

A site backup contains the image of one ArcGIS Server instance that participated in the site (the site server instance that contained the configuration store). When the backup is restored, the image of this ArcGIS Server instance is used to launch as many ArcGIS Server instances as originally participated in the site.

Restoring a backup affects only your existing site; it does not create a new site. If you want to create a new site just like your existing one, use a site template instead.


You cannot use a backup to restore a site that has been deleted. When you delete a site, its backups are also deleted.

Follow these steps to restore a site from a backup:

  1. Log in to ArcGIS Server Cloud Builder on Amazon Web Services.
  2. In the list of sites, find the site you want to restore and click its Backups button.
  3. Select the backup you want to restore and click Restore.