Once administrators have created a collaboration, users can share content with groups that have been linked to the collaboration workspace. The content is then discoverable for other collaboration participants in their own environment. In a collaboration, content is shared according to the sharing settings of the organization where the data originated.
Groups in a collaboration are marked with a Collaboration label and the name of the collaboration on the Overview tab of the group page. Depending on the access mode defined by the collaboration host (the organization that created the collaboration), guests use a group to either send content to the host, receive content from the host, or both send content to and receive content from the host. Sharing rules defined when the collaboration was established determine when shared content is synchronized between participants. The access mode and sync settings are displayed on the group page under the Collaboration label.
Starting at ArcGIS Enterprise 10.9, when a participant has Send and Receive access to a collaboration workspace, they can allow two-way syncing of data edits to feature layers they share as copies, allowing for two-way sharing of data edits. The participant enables this capability on the collaboration workspace to which the feature layers are shared. When two-way syncing is allowed, both the sending participant and the receiving participants can edit the feature layer and synchronize updates between organizations. For more information, see Share content with collaboration groups.
You can send content from your organization to a participant if the collaboration host defined the access mode for the collaboration workspace as either Send or Send and Receive. To send content, share the items with the group that is associated with the collaboration workspace. The content will be sent to the host based on the sync settings determined by your administrator.
Once content has been shared to the collaboration, participants can share the content again inside or outside their organization, including in any other collaborations in which they participate. Participants can also build on the shared items to create their own information products. However, once content has been shared, it cannot be shared back to its source.
If you remove items from a group associated with a collaboration workspace, unless they have delete protection enabled, the items are removed from the recipient's groups at the next sync.
In collaborations where ArcGIS Online is the host, sync settings default to At scheduled intervals. The ArcGIS Enterprise participant controls the schedule at which group item content and feature layer edits are synchronized; the host does not control the sync schedule.
You can receive content from a participating portal if the collaboration host defined the access mode for the collaboration workspace as either Receive or Send and Receive. When another organization participating in the collaboration shares content, your organization will gain access to the content in the group associated with the collaboration workspace. Content will refresh and appear in the group according to the sync schedule.
Items received from other organizations display the Collaborated Content badge. This badge is not visible on items in the originating environment.
If you share content to a group in your organization and your access mode in the collaboration is Receive, the content remains in the group but is not shared to collaboration participants in other organizations.