Although it is unlikely you will need to do so, you can remove the hosting server from the portal. Once you remove the hosting server, users will no longer have access to the functionality that having a hosting server provides. Your existing hosted layers remain as portal items and the underlying services remain on the GIS Server site until you delete them.
Follow these steps if your portal users no longer need the functionality provided by a hosting server:
- Sign in to the portal website as an administrator and go to Organization > Settings > Servers.
- From the Hosting Server section of the page, click the drop-down list and select No hosting server.
- Click Save.
If the hosted layer items are no longer needed, you can delete the portal items in the portal website. Since the GIS Server site is no longer set as the portal's hosting server, you must separately delete the services from the GIS Server site if you don't need them either. You can connect to the GIS Server site from ArcGIS Server Manager to delete the services.