If you don't want your server to be federated with your ArcGIS Enterprise portal anymore, remove the federated server using the portal website. Your hosted service items remain in the portal but they are disconnected from their services in ArcGIS Server. This means that members will not be able to access, share, or use these services in the portal. Additionally, any existing ArcGIS Server services that were imported during the federation process are removed from the portal and are no longer available. The services remain in ArcGIS Server until you explicitly delete them using a program such as ArcGIS Server Manager.
If you're upgrading your ArcGIS Enterprise components, it's strongly recommended that you do not unfederate when you upgrade. Doing this will adversely impact your portal deployment, as noted in the implications above.
After unfederating, log in to ArcGIS Server Manager and restore the security settings you were using before you federated.
To remove an ArcGIS Server site from your portal, follow the steps below.
- Sign in to the ArcGIS Portal Directory administrator location as an administrator of your organization. The URL is in the format https://webadaptorhost.domain.com/arcgis/portaladmin, where arcgis is the name of the Web Adaptor registered with the portal.
- Click Federation > Servers.
- Choose the server you want to unfederate.
- Click Unfederate.
- If you no longer want ArcGIS Server services to be available to any application, log in to Manager and delete the services. Hosted services published by portal users are located in the Hosted folder.
If you do not perform this step, ArcGIS Server services and hosted services published by portal users continue to run on the server.
- Log in to Manager with the primary site administrator account, and reset the user and role stores to the settings they were using before you federated the server. When you log in, you'll notice that the unfederation operation has reverted ArcGIS Server security to the built-in user and role store. Set it to the store that you want, and reapply permissions on your services if necessary.
If the primary site administrator account is disabled, you need to re-enable it before you can log in. To learn more, see Configure ArcGIS Server security and Control access to your services.