If you want to delete an ArcGIS Server machine from your site, you can do so in ArcGIS Server Manager.
Before you delete an ArcGIS Server machine from a site, consider the following:
If a Web Adaptor is registered with a site, it may take some time for the Web Adaptor to recognize that a machine has been deleted. By default, the Web Adaptor checks every minute to see if machines have been added or deleted from the site. For example, depending on when you delete a machine, the Web Adaptor will not recognize the deleted machine until the next time it checks the site. During this interval, requests will still be forwarded to the deleted machine. This may cause requests to fail and events to be written to the server logs.
To alleviate this potential issue, you can force the Web Adaptor to recognize the deleted machine by reconfiguring the Web Adaptor. See Configure ArcGIS Web Adaptor for instructions.
If you delete the machine that is currently hosting ArcGIS Server Manager, you'll be logged out of Server Manager and returned to a page where you have the option to create a site or join an existing site. To log in to Server Manager, you must enter the ArcGIS Server Manager URL to one of the other machines in your site.
If you only have one ArcGIS Server machine in the site and you delete it, the site is also deleted and you are returned to a page where you'll be asked whether you want to create a site or join an existing site. Keep in mind that your existing services and settings are preserved in the configuration store. If you want to re-create the site on another machine, reference the existing configuration store when creating the site.
Delete a machine from a site in ArcGIS Server Manager
To delete a machine from an ArcGIS Server site in ArcGIS Server Manager, complete the following steps:
- Start ArcGIS Server Manager for the ArcGIS Server site and log in.
- Click Site > Server Configuration > Machines.
- In the Machines module, locate the machine you want to remove and click Delete .
- On the confirmation dialog box that appears, review the information and click Yes.
Your machine is deleted from the site. If you deleted a machine that was hosting ArcGIS Server Manager, you are logged out of Server Manager and returned to a page where you have the option to create a site or join an existing site.