Skip To Content

Enabling IIS and required IIS components on Windows 8/8.1

The ArcGIS Web Adaptor requires that IIS be enabled and specific IIS components be enabled on Windows 8/8.1. The setup will not proceed if IIS is not detected and specific IIS components are not enabled.

If you've already enabled IIS but are missing the required IIS components, the installation will display a message indicating that certain IIS components are missing. You have the option to allow the installation to automatically enable the required IIS components. However, depending on your organization's security policies, it may be necessary to manually enable the required IIS components, as described below.

To learn how to enable IIS and the required IIS components on Windows 8/8.1, see the instructions below.

  1. Open Control Panel and click Programs and Features > Turn Windows features on or off.
  2. Enable Internet Information Services.
  3. Expand the Internet Information Services feature and verify that the web server components listed below are enabled.
  4. Click OK.

Required IIS components

The IIS components listed below satisfy the minimum requirements to run the Web Adaptor. If other IIS components are enabled, they do not need to be removed.

  • Web Management Tools
    • IIS 6 Management Compatibility
      • IIS Metabase and IIS 6 configuration compatibility
    • IIS Management Console
    • IIS Management Scripts and Tools
    • IIS Management Service

  • World Wide Web Services
    • Application Development Features

      • .NET Extensibility 4.5
      • ASP.NET 4.5
      • ISAPI Extensions
      • ISAPI Filters

    • Common HTTP Features
      • Default Document
      • Static Content
    • Security
      • Basic Authentication
      • Request Filtering
      • Windows Authentication

In this topic
  1. Required IIS components