Disabling automatic data copying when publishing to the server
By default, ArcGIS Server allows publishers to package and copy the source GIS data of a service to the server automatically at publish time. If you're concerned about too much data accumulating on the server, or if you would rather have your publishers reference the data another way, you can block data copying. You'll configure this setting in ArcGIS Server Manager.
Keep in mind that once you have disabled data from being copied to the server, your publishers will no longer be able to publish without first registering their data with the server. It is recommended that you register a set of approved folders and databases with the server and communicate these directories to your publishers. By using this method, you can decrease the number of incidents where your publishers will be unable to publish to the server. For more information, see About registering your data with the server.
To disable data from being copied to the server, follow the instructions below.
- Open Manager and log in. If you need help with this step, see Logging in to Manager.
- Click Site > GIS Server > Data Store.
- On the Data Store module, click Settings.
- On the Data Store Settings dialog box, uncheck Allow data to be copied to the site when publishing services.
- Click Save.
Your site is now configured to prevent publishers from copying data to the server when publishing.